As I dig deeper into Carthage, the number of minor rule annoyances increases. The number of ambiguities multiplies. That said playing solo I can crank though a turn in about 45 minutes to an hour, + rule look ups which is where I spend an extra 30 minutes.
Some review of the Assault rules reveals that I played the rule wrong in my solo play. The results table of course should be read in conjunction with the rules. Sigh.
I am still unclear if an intercept ‘in hex’ affects the status of a unit conducting a siege, while it attempts to intercept. EDIT [resolved, same hex intercepts do NOT break a siege!]
The clarity around number of LAMS and how they are used/usable is a bit murky. In some places the rules say place a LAM in ‘the cup’ in others nothing. The number of LAMS corresponds to the initiative rating of the leader and determines the number of Operation Phases he is allowed (except for Praetor Urbanus, who has to use a Consul chit from another Leader.)
The rules summary here for Roman elections is excellent subject to remembering that where the summary says “put the LAM in a cup” should read LAMs up to the initiative rating”. I uploaded this summary to BGG from CSW. Oh and the Visit from Pluto and how to resolve it is only mentioned in the Sequence of play…nice. Berg you owe me thirty minutes of my life back.